Amid old poverties, new migrations, and the current pandemic, how can we build a vision for development that embraces technology and honors human dignity? The Ukrainian Catholic University in Lviv, Ukraine held the International Conference together with Georgetown, Notre Dame, and the Angelicum in Rome.
Conference at a Glance
Big Questions
  • What do we owe each other ethically? What does it mean to be a citizen in 2021?
  • How can we educate for genuine citizenship?
  • Will we be captivated by technology or can we find a new freedom?
  • How can we strengthen the system of ethics we apply to our social problems?
  • How can we alleviate poverty in its many forms—economic, educational, cultural, and spiritual?
  • How can we unite these aspects—economy, education, culture, religion—to create an integral vision of human development?
  • What ethical guidance and principles can help us promote integral human development?
  • If we are social beings, does that mean we are also dependent creatures? If so, what are the implications of this dependency on how we structure our societies?
Participants
Thirty-five distinguished speakers from at least five countries (Ukraine, Italy, Germany, the United States, and the United Kingdom) will share their insights, expertise, and experience. The conference audience, consisting of an international crowd representing various professions, will also interact with students from our four universities, who will present research projects, case studies analyses, and debates.
Partnerships
The conference is a collaborative endeavour of four Catholic universities in Europe and North America: Ukrainian Catholic University (Lviv, Ukraine); Pontifical University of St. Thomas Aquinas (the Angelicum, Rome); University of Notre Dame (Indiana, USA); and Georgetown University (Washington, DC).
We are also joined by the Lviv Lab for the Activation of Democracy, a pandemic-era project of Ukrainians and Americans working to reimagine journalism; and Tvoe Misto ("Your City"), a Lviv-based media organization that holds problem-solving public forums for the local community.
Please click here for more information about our Partners
Online
Follow the link to join our broadcast
Programme
The program provides a variety of formats allowing our international audience to take advantage of digitally easy access from various geographical locations. The conference invites you to the live panel discussion, fireside chats, interviews, student presentations, roundtables, evening expert discussions
IHD Series
The Conference is a part of an annual international conference series within the framework of a broad theme entitled Integral Human Development in the Digital Age. This series was inaugurated in 2019 by the International Institute for Ethics and Contemporary Issues (IIECI) and the Faculty of Social Sciences at the Ukrainian Catholic University.
Interview
Angelicum Panel
Summary of framing conversation
Katherine Marshall: What's the role of religious voices in the modern era
On Thursday, February 25, Professor José Casanova, Senior Fellow, Berkley Center for Religion, Peace, and World Affair,Georgetown University, interviewed Professor Katherine Marshall, also Senior Fellow of the Berkley Center, and a professor in Georgetown's Walsh School of Foreign Service, as well as Executive Director of the World Faiths Development Dialogue.
Demystifying Tech: "If we seek freedom in our time it must be within tech not outside of it"
How can we escape technological captivity to find a new freedom?
Summary of framing conversation Integral Human Development
Framing Conversation: Political, Economic and Social Inequality: New Ethics in a New World
Conference Digest
First Conference Day
Tuesday, February 23, 2021
Washington: 08:00 - 09:30
Rome: 14:00 - 15:30
Kyiv: 15:00 - 16:30
Washington: 08:00 - 09:30
Rome: 14:00 - 15:30
Kyiv: 15:00 - 16:30
Framing Conversation
Ukrainian Catholic University

Andy Hunder, President of the American Chamber of Commerce in Ukraine, Senator of UCU
Ivanna Klympush-Tsyntsadze, MP, Chairwoman of the Committee on Ukraine's Integration into the European Union, Member of the Supervisory Board of Analytical Center of UCU
Volodymyr Lavrenchuk, Chairman of the Board of Raiffeisen Bank Aval
(2005-2019), Senator of UCU
Nataliya Popovych, Founder of One Philosophy Group, Senator of UCU
Oksana Kulakovska (moderator), Director of the Analytical Center of UCU
Washington: 10:00 - 11:30
Rome: 16:00 - 17:30
Kyiv: 17:00 - 18:30
Washington: 10:00 - 11:30
Rome: 16:00 - 17:30
Kyiv: 17:00 - 18:30
Panel Discussion
Ukrainian Catholic University

Orysya Bila, Head of the Philosophy Department of UCU
Taras Dobko
, Senior Vice Rector of the UCU
Myroslav Marynovych, UCU Vice-Rector for University Mission
Volodymyr Turchynovskyy, Dean of the Social Sciences Faculty, Director of the IIECI, UCU
Sophia Opatska (moderator), Founding Dean and Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Lviv Business School at the UCU, Vice Rector Academic Affairs at the UCU
Washington: 12:30 - 13:30
Rome: 18:30 - 19:30
Kyiv: 19:30 - 20:30
Washington: 12:30 - 13:30
Rome: 18:30 - 19:30
Kyiv: 19:30 - 20:30
Interview
Bishop Borys (Gudziak), President of the Ukrainian Catholic University. Archbishop and Metropolitan of Philadelphia of the Ukrainian Greek Catholic Church in the United States of America
Sean Patrick Lovett, Media Professional, Educator, and Communications Consultant,
Ex-Director of Vatican Radio's English Section
Washington: 13:45 - 15:00
Rome: 19:45 - 21:00
Kyiv: 20:45 - 22:00
Washington: 13:45 - 15:00
Rome: 19:45 - 21:00
Kyiv: 20:45 - 22:00
Lviv Lab Format
Produced by Tvoe Misto Media-Hub

Although we are online this year, we wish to offer you a virtual visit in which you'll hear some of the Lviv's great jazz artists in a special, lively show created for IHD 2021. We'll also hear a few words about the conscientious-community of local musicians and their ethic of cooperation. We invite you to watch, or if occupied with other things, simply to listen in.
Second Conference Day
Wednesday, February 24, 2021
Washington: 08:00 - 09:00
Rome: 14:00 - 15:00
Kyiv: 15:00 - 16:00
Washington: 08:00 - 09:00
Rome: 14:00 - 15:00
Kyiv: 15:00 - 16:00
UCU Students Contributions
Ethics-Politics-Economics Students Contributions
Washington: 09:30 - 10:45
Rome: 15:30 - 16:45
Kyiv: 16:30 - 17:45
Washington: 09:30 - 10:45
Rome: 15:30 - 16:45
Kyiv: 16:30 - 17:45
Panel Discussion
The Pontifical University of St. Thomas Aquinas (Angelicum)

Gábor L . Ambrus, Researcher at the Pontifical University of St Thomas and Member of the Research Group for Theology and Contemporary Culture at the Charles University
Matthieu Raffray, Professor of Philosophy, Pontifical University of St. Thomas Aquinas (Angelicum)
Sr. Helen Alford (moderator), Vice-Rector of the Pontifical University of St. Thomas Aquinas (Angelicum)
Washington: 10:50 - 11:50
Rome: 16:50 - 17:50
Kyiv: 17:50 - 18:50
Washington: 10:50 - 11:50
Rome: 16:50 - 17:50
Kyiv: 17:50 - 18:50
UCU Students Oxford Debates
School of Public Management Students Contribution

Iryna Lapshyna (moderator), PhD, Associate Professor, Ukrainian Catholic University; Research Associate at the University of Oxford

Washington: 12:00 - 13:00
Rome: 18:00 - 19:00
Kyiv: 19:00 - 20:00
Washington: 12:00 - 13:00
Rome: 18:00 - 19:00
Kyiv: 19:00 - 20:00
Interview
Reflecting on Let Us Dream: The Path to a Better Future by Pope Francis in conversation with Austen Ivereigh

Austen Ivereigh, Catholic writer, journalist and commentator
Anatolii Babynskyi, Research Fellow at the Institute of Church History, Ukrainian Catholic University, journalist
Washington: 14:00 - 15:00
Rome: 20:00 - 21:00
Kyiv: 21:00 - 22:00
Washington: 14:00 - 15:00
Rome: 20:00 - 21:00
Kyiv: 21:00 - 22:00
Lviv Lab Format
A conversation from the United States and Ukraine about what we are fleeing--and what we want to build

If we are social beings, does that mean we are also dependent creatures? If so, what are the implications of this dependency on how we structure our societies?

Co-Hosts:

Sean Cliford, CEO, Canopy, Austin and Tel Aviv; political and communications strategist
Joe Lindsley, founder, Lviv Lab for the Activation of Democracy; former protégé to Fox News founder Roger Ailes

Panelists:

Judge Glock:
Senior Policy Advisor, The Cicero Institute; Austin, Texas
Nataly Veremeeva: CEO, Tech Ukraine; head of supervisory board and former CEO, Kyiv IT Cluster
Kostyantyn Chyzyk: former director, President's Investment Council, Ukraine; former deputy minister, ecology; former advisor to Minister of Finance Natalie Jaresko
Maria Sophia Aguirre, professor of economics and founder of Integral Economic Development Program, Catholic University of America, Washington, DC
Third Conference Day
Thursday, February 25, 2021
Washington: 08:00 - 09:30
Rome: 14:00 - 15:30
Kyiv: 15:00 - 16:30
Washington: 08:00 - 09:30
Rome: 14:00 - 15:30
Kyiv: 15:00 - 16:30
UCU Students Mock Parliamentary Debates
Law School students will represent two groups within the Mock Parliament (Majority Coalition and Opposition), arguing in favor of opposing views on what can be allowed in times of crisis
Washington: 10:00 - 11:00
Rome: 16:00 - 17:00
Kyiv: 17:00 - 18:00
Washington: 10:00 - 11:00
Rome: 16:00 - 17:00
Kyiv: 17:00 - 18:00
Panel Discussion
University of Notre Dame

Scott Appleby, Marilyn Keough Dean of Notre Dame's Keough School of
Global Affairs
Catherine Bolten, Associate Professor of Anthropology and Peace Studies
Julia Kowalski, Assistant Professor of Global Affairs
Rev. James M. Lies, C.S.C, Senior Director for Academic Initiatives & Partnerships (Interim), London Global Gateway
Clemens Sedmak (moderator), Professor of Social Ethics and Interim Director, Nanovic Institute for European Studies, Keough School of Global Affairs, University of Notre Dame

Washington: 11:15 - 12:15
Rome: 17:15 - 18:15
Kyiv: 18:15 - 19:15
Washington: 11:15 - 12:15
Rome: 17:15 - 18:15
Kyiv: 18:15 - 19:15
Panel Discussion
Andriy Kostyuk, Chairman of Advisory Board, UCU Law School; managing partner of KPLT. Attorneys at law
Sandra Krähenmann, Thematic Legal Adviser at Geneva Call
Jeremy McBride
, Department for continuing education, University of Oxford. Barrister, Monckton Chambers, London (2006-) and Visiting Professor, Central European University (1997-)
Pavlo Pushkar - PhD, Division Head у Council of Europe - Directorate General Human Rights and Rule of Law
Taras Leshkovych (moderator), Senior Lecturer, UCU Law School
Washington: 12:30 - 13:30
Rome: 18:30 - 19:30
Kyiv: 19:30 - 20:30
Washington: 12:30 - 13:30
Rome: 18:30 - 19:30
Kyiv: 19:30 - 20:30
Interview
Topic: "Religion and IHD on the Global Level"

Katherine Marshall, Senior Fellow of the Berkley Center for Religion, Peace and World Affairs, Georgetown University, Walsh School of Foreign Service, Executive Director of the World Faiths Development Dialogue
José Casanova, Professor Emeritus, Senior Fellow, Berkley Center for Religion, Peace, and World Affair,Georgetown University, USA
Washington: 14:00 - 15:00
Rome: 20:00 - 21:00
Kyiv: 21:00 - 22:00
Washington: 14:00 - 15:00
Rome: 20:00 - 21:00
Kyiv: 21:00 - 22:00
Lviv Lab Format
What do we owe each other ethically? What does it mean to be a citizen in 2021?

Breaking-news bonus interview:
Within the framework of human rights, we'll start with a 5-minute, fact-finding interview of Melanie Podolyak, ally and friend of Serhii Sternenko, whose imprisonment this week in Odesa has caused protests all over Ukraine.


Sixtus "Baggio" Leung
, former member, Hong Kong LegCo; founder, Younspiration political party; political exile in Washington DC, with Daniel Wong (DC) and Simon Cheng (London), co-founders Hong Kong Shadow Parliament:: "Interview: My Escape from Hong Kong"
Aleksandra Gadzala Tirziu, Head of Research, The Singularity Group; senior nonresident fellow, Atlantic Council; M.Phil and PhD, University of Oxford: "China's Ideological Influence in Africa"
Drew Pavlou, (in Brisbane), Australian human rights activist; former student senator, University of Queensland: "Info-Control at Universities"
Arthur Kharytonov, founder Free Hong Kong Center, Kyiv, Ukraine: "Analyzing Current Chinese Campaigns in Europe"
Joe Lindsley (moderator), founder, Lviv Lab for the Activation of Democracy; former protégé to Fox News founder Roger Ailes; "Discussion: What Could Our Alternative Vision Be?"
Fourth Conference Day
Friday, February 26, 2021
Washington: 08:00 - 09:30
Rome: 14:00 - 15:30
Kyiv: 15:00 - 16:30
Washington: 08:00 - 09:30
Rome: 14:00 - 15:30
Kyiv: 15:00 - 16:30
UCU Students Contributions
School of Journalism and Communication Students Presentation
Washington: 10:00 - 11:30
Rome: 16:00 - 17:30
Kyiv: 17:00 - 18:30
Washington: 10:00 - 11:30
Rome: 16:00 - 17:30
Kyiv: 17:00 - 18:30
Panel Discussion
Georgetown University

Kim Daniels, Co-Director of the Initiative on Catholic Social Thought and Public Life at Georgetown University
David Hollenbach, Senior Fellow of the Berkley Center for Religion, Peace and World Affairs, Georgetown University, Walsh School of Foreign Service and Department of Theology and Religious Studies
Katherine Marshall, Senior Fellow of the Berkley Center for Religion, Peace and World Affairs, Georgetown University, Walsh School of Foreign Service, Executive Director of the World Faiths Development Dialogue
José Casanova (moderator) - Professor Emeritus, Senior Fellow, Berkley Center for Religion, Peace, and World Affair,Georgetown University, USA
Washington: 12:00 - 13:30
Rome: 18:00 - 19:30
Kyiv: 19:00 - 20:30
Washington: 12:00 - 13:30
Rome: 18:00 - 19:30
Kyiv: 19:00 - 20:30
Concluding Round Table
Sr. Helen Alford, Vice-Rector of the Pontifical University of St. Thomas Aquinas (Angelicum), Italy
Alois Buch - Dean, St. Lambert Interdiocesan, Major Seminary, Lantershofen, Germany. Lecturer of the School of Bioethics of UCU, Germany
José Casanova - Professor Emeritus, Senior Fellow, Berkley Center for Religion, Peace, and World Affair,Georgetown University, USA
Oksana Kulakovska, Director of the Analytical Center 0f UCU
Liz Paslawsky, Visiting professor at UCU
Clemens Sedmak, Professor of Social Ethics and Director, Nanovic Institute for European Studies, Keough School of Global Affairs, University of Notre Dame, IN, USA
Volodymyr Turchynovskyy (moderator) - Director of theIIECI, Dean of the Social Sciences Faculty, UCU, Ukraine
Washington: 14:00 - 15:00
Rome: 20:00 - 21:00
Kyiv: 21:00 - 22:00
Washington: 14:00 - 15:00
Rome: 20:00 - 21:00
Kyiv: 21:00 - 22:00
Lviv Lab Format
Escape from the Frenzy: A New Social Ethics for Media
Will we be captivated by technology or can we find a new freedom? What does it mean to be a citizen in 2021?

Introduction: Andri Osypchuk, business owner; champion bartender, Dubai and Lviv: "I Serve People Drinks: Who and What Does Media Serve?"
Joe Lindsley, founder, Lviv Lab for the Activation of Democracy; protégé of Fox News founder Roger Ailes, former local newspaper editor-in-chief, New York State: "Saving Our Attention: How the Transcendental Reduction Can Create Media that Offers Real Value"
Taras Yatsenko, publisher, Tvoe Misto; former music promoter: "Public-Forum Journalism: We Create a Mini-Maidan Every Week"
Adar Weinreb, CEO and founder, The Great Debates (Israel); member, founding team, Fuse.io; "Whatever Is Most Controversial That Is What We Must Discuss"
James David Dickson, reporter, the Detroit News; former opinion editor: "If It's Free, We Are the Product Being Sold"